Trust and legitimacy

Is Polymarket safe? Three separate questions, and only one of them has a clean answer

Three questions, answered separately: is your money safe, can you open a position, will you get paid. Geoblock list read at source 5 Aug 2026.

Last checked 19 August 2026 · 4 sources

People asking this are asking three things at once, and the three have different answers. Can I open a position at all is the one with a clean answer: when we read Polymarket's own geoblock endpoint at source on 5 Aug 2026, it listed the United States and the United Kingdom as close-only on both the frontend and the API, alongside 31 other jurisdictions in that same category. That is platform availability. It is not a ruling on whether trading is lawful where you live, and this page keeps the two apart. Will I get paid is messier: every documented failure in our source set is a resolution or support failure, not a platform taking deposits and refusing to return them. Is my money held safely is the one we cannot answer, because we hold zero statements about Polymarket custody read at source, and this page says that instead of repeating what the community assumes.

Everything below was read at source on 5 Aug 2026 unless dated otherwise. Page written 18 Aug 2026.

Nobody has shown us where the money actually sits

The community vocabulary around both venues includes "fully collateralized" and "cash-settled". Those are the words traders use. They are not, on our evidence, a verified description of Polymarket's custody arrangement, because we have not read a statement of it at source and we are not going to pass the assumption along as a finding.

What we can point at, in both directions:

  • Polymarket trading is publicly visible on-chain. That is a real, checkable property, and it cuts both ways. Your own positions are auditable by you. They are also auditable by everyone else, which is a privacy problem rather than a safety one.
  • The stated corporate address does not resolve. NPR reported finding no sign of Polymarket at its stated Panama headquarters. We hold that finding second-hand, with no URL, and it is listed below in what we could not verify.
  • polymarket.us discloses nothing. We read it on 5 Aug 2026. No operator named, no CFTC or DCM status stated, no state availability list, no statement on whether US users may open positions. A sign-up page and two links. For a US reader trying to work out who holds their money, that page answers none of it.

If custody is your actual question, the honest position today is that it is open. A page that tells you your funds are segregated and insured is telling you something neither of us has read.

The geoblock decides this before custody ever matters

Polymarket publishes a machine-readable geoblock at docs.polymarket.com/api-reference/geoblock. This is the single most checkable fact on the page, and it is also the one where published lists disagree most. Polymarket's own help pages put the restricted count at 39. Datawallet's guide says 33. Polymarket101's says about 14. All three disagree with each other and with the endpoint.

Counted from the endpoint as we read it on 5 Aug 2026:

Status, in the endpoint's own vocabularyCountWhat it means for a trader
Blocked, OFAC5 entriesNo access at all
Close-only, frontend and API33 entriesExisting positions can be closed, new ones cannot be opened, and the API is restricted too
Close-only, frontend only4 entriesSite restricted; no API restriction listed for these
Not listedBulgaria is oneNo restriction published on this endpoint

Blocked, OFAC: Iran, Syria, Cuba, North Korea, Ukraine (Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk).

Close-only, frontend and API: Australia, Belarus, Belgium, Burundi, Brazil, Canada (British Columbia, Ontario, Alberta, Quebec), Central African Republic, Congo (Kinshasa), Ethiopia, France, Germany, Iraq, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Somalia, Slovakia, South Sudan, Sudan, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Close-only, frontend only: Ireland, Japan, Malta (sports only), Netherlands.

Two things worth flagging from actually reading it. North Korea appears in two categories at once, blocked and close-only, which is the source's inconsistency and not a transcription error on our side. And the page carries no date and no version number, which means this transcription, like every competitor list, can go stale under us silently. Check the endpoint yourself before you act on any of it, including this.

One distinction that competitor pages routinely collapse: being geofenced is not the same as being unlawful, and neither is the same as being promo-eligible. Those are three separate questions with three separate answers, and merging them is how four publishers ended up contradicting each other on Montana, Illinois, New Jersey, Minnesota and Connecticut in the same week. This page answers only the middle one, platform availability, because that is the one the endpoint is evidence for.

We do not publish geoblock workarounds. That is our editorial policy, not a legal finding: our own research note records that circumventing the geoblock breaches Polymarket's terms, but we have not read the terms of service at source in this pass, so it sits in the unverified list below rather than being quoted at you as a clause. Read the terms yourself before you rely on either version.

The documented failures are about resolution, not about funds vanishing

Our community research reached 17 sources including BBB complaint records, Trustpilot themes, Hacker News, SSRN and court filings. Not one documented case in that set is a platform taking deposits and refusing to return them. The cases are these:

  • A market that paid out minutes before Spotify deleted 523,000 fraudulent streams.
  • A market our note records as settling at 39.5% rather than YES, turning on a death carveout allegedly not disclosed until after airstrike reports had circulated.
  • A Bitcoin market marked as a loss despite price data supporting a win.
  • A market left open after its event had resolved.
  • An $89.27 hold on a winning bet.
  • A $25 referral bonus never credited despite repeated support assurances.
  • An app failure during live trading with a claimed loss of about $200,000.

Our research note gathers these across both major venues and does not record which platform each one belongs to. We are naming that limitation rather than assigning them all to Polymarket, which is what a page trying to scare or reassure you would do.

The structural point underneath all of them: the party that writes a market's rulebook is also the party that decides how it settles. Whether any independent appeal path exists is on our list of ten questions the community asks constantly and no source answers well. If that sounds like a small risk, read the rulebook before you take the position, not after.

The fee curve can take your money without anybody cheating

"Safe" often means "will I lose my money", and the answer there does not depend on anyone behaving badly. It depends on arithmetic most traders never do.

Polymarket makers are never charged. That is zero, not a discount. Takers pay a per-category rate, which as of fee schedule version 2026-08-04.a, read from Polymarket's documentation, is 0.07 on crypto, 0.05 on sports, economics, culture, weather and other, 0.04 on finance, politics, mentions and tech, and 0.00 on geopolitical markets. The fee itself is rate × C × P × (1−P), where C is contracts and P is the entry price. That is a parabola, peaking at $0.50.

The consequence is the part nobody publishes. Break-even as a fraction of your stake is simply rate × (1−P), because C = stake / P cancels the P out of the fee formula. So the same claimed edge is profitable at one price and a guaranteed loss at another. Two real positions from our own paper log, both opened 28 Jul 2026, both surfaced at an identical claimed gross edge of 1.20% by our signal collector, the one that scans 500 markets across 8 tags and finds momentum rather than arbitrage:

PositionEntry priceCategory rateBreak-even, as a share of stakeEntered atNet at entry, one leg
Hyperliquid airdrop by Dec 31$0.86930.070.07 × (1 − 0.8693) = 0.91%1.20%+$0.29
Bernadette Wilson win AK governor$0.29650.040.04 × (1 − 0.2965) = 2.81%1.20%-$1.61

The second one was negative at the moment of entry, before the market moved at all. It needed 2.81% and it was opened on 1.20%. That is not a bad outcome that happened to lose, it is a trade that could not win, and our own scanner opened it. The counterintuitive part: the cheap longshot is the dangerous one. The position at $0.2965 needed roughly three times the edge of the position at $0.8693 while carrying the lower of the two category rates, 0.04 against 0.07. That is the opposite of what most people assume about small, cheap contracts.

Our full paper log stands at 10 trades, 6 closed, net -$28.30 mark-to-market on $500 of paper capital deployed, as of 4 Aug 2026. Every figure in this section comes from that one signal collector; we run a second, larger history collector and we never blend numbers across the two. These are paper trades, flagged as such in the log. We publish the losing ones because a page about safety that only shows wins is not about safety.

What we could not verify

  • Polymarket's custody arrangement. No statement about collateralization, segregation or insurance of balances read at source. The phrase "fully collateralized" is community vocabulary in our notes, not a verified finding.
  • The NPR Panama report. We hold the finding that NPR found no sign of Polymarket at its stated Panama headquarters, with no URL and no publication date recorded.
  • Which venue the complaint statistics belong to. BBB records in our set show 174 of 214 complaints unanswered, 81%, and Trustpilot appears in our notes at 1.9 out of 5. Our notes do not record which platform each figure covers. That is a real gap and it is why neither number appears above as a Polymarket fact.
  • The death carveout case. We have not read the market's own rulebook or a primary source for the carveout wording. Our note itself says "allegedly".
  • A Massachusetts Attorney General complaint in our notes describes an exchange writing the contract rules and determining the settlement basis with no independent intermediary. We hold no case caption, court or docket number for it, and it concerns Kalshi rather than Polymarket. Under our own citation rule that is not usable, so it is not used above.
  • A wash-trading estimate of roughly a quarter of Polymarket trades appears in our notes with no named author or paper. Not repeated as a finding.
  • The SSRN work on who profits (limit-order makers rather than market-order takers) has no title, authors or link in our notes.
  • The fee schedule deep link. We hold the per-category rates and the version stamp 2026-08-04.a, but not a stable URL to the published fee page. Each market also carries its own feeSchedule.rate on the Gamma API, which is what our collector reads and what you can check yourself.
  • Polymarket's terms of service, not read at source in this pass.
  • Whether a US visitor can open an account anywhere in the Polymarket family at all. The .com property is close-only for the US on frontend and API; polymarket.us discloses nothing. Nothing we hold reconciles the two.

The questions people actually type

Is Polymarket a scam?

Nothing in our source set shows a prediction market taking deposits and refusing to return them. The documented complaints, gathered across both venues, are a different shape: an $89.27 hold on a winning bet, a market left open after its event resolved, a $25 referral bonus never credited. Those are resolution and support failures. We have not verified Polymarket's custody arrangement at source.

Can I use Polymarket in the US?

Polymarket's geoblock endpoint listed the United States as close-only on both frontend and API when we read it on 5 Aug 2026, one of 33 jurisdictions in that category. Close-only means existing positions can be closed and new ones cannot be opened. A separate property, polymarket.us, exists; we read it the same day and it named no operator, no CFTC status and no state list.

Is Polymarket legal in the UK?

We do not answer that here, and the distinction is the point. The endpoint listed the United Kingdom as close-only on frontend and API on 5 Aug 2026, one of 33 jurisdictions in that category. That is a platform availability fact, not a ruling on UK law. Availability, legality and promo eligibility are three separate things that competitor pages routinely merge.

Does Polymarket charge fees?

Makers are never charged, which is zero rather than a discount. Takers pay a per-category rate: 0.07 on crypto, 0.05 on sports, economics, culture, weather and other, 0.04 on finance, politics, mentions and tech, and 0.00 on geopolitical markets. The fee is rate × C × P × (1−P), so it peaks at an entry price of $0.50 and shrinks toward both ends.

What happens if a market settles against me and I think the resolution is wrong?

Nobody answers this well. Whether any independent appeal path exists is one of ten questions our community research found asked constantly and resolved nowhere. Two documented cases: a market that paid out minutes before Spotify deleted 523,000 fraudulent streams, and one our note records as settling at 39.5% on a death carveout allegedly not disclosed until after airstrike reports circulated.

Can Polymarket freeze my funds?

We have no Polymarket-specific answer. What we hold: withdrawal timelines and KYC holds are the dominant 1-star theme across Trustpilot, recorded in our notes at 1.9 out of 5, and BBB records where 174 of 214 complaints, 81%, went unanswered. Our notes do not record which platform each of those two figures covers, which is why neither is stated above as a Polymarket fact.

Is my money insured on Polymarket?

Not known from our sources. We hold zero statements, read at source, about custody, collateralization or insurance of Polymarket balances, and we are not repeating "fully collateralized" as a finding just because the community says it. One thing you can check yourself: Polymarket trading is publicly visible on-chain, so your own positions are auditable.

How much can fees cost me on a cheap contract?

At a 0.04 category rate, break-even on an entry at $0.2965 is 2.81% of stake; at $0.8693 with the higher 0.07 rate it is 0.91%. The cheap longshot needs roughly three times the edge. One position in our paper log was opened at a claimed 1.20% edge against a 2.81% break-even and was negative before the market moved.

Where to go next

  • Polymarket .com vs Polymarket US, for the split this page could not reconcile
  • Restricted countries, live from the endpoint
  • Kalshi vs Polymarket, if the answer above pushed you toward the other venue

PredictionEdge currently takes no referral revenue; whether it ever will is undecided. There is no signup link on this page and there was never going to be one on a page you landed on because you were suspicious.

Sources

  1. https://docs.polymarket.com/api-reference/geoblock
  2. https://docs.polymarket.com/
  3. https://help.polymarket.com/
  4. https://polymarket.us/